The Power of a Rainbow Graffiti

January 7, 2011 § 3 Comments

If I’m not unloading my miseries onto my friends when I’m having a bad day, I’m probably sitting in front of my computer, pouting at the screen. The internet is my go-to place to escape reality and just immerse myself with the endless (and mindless) flow of data, images and videos out in the virtual space. It’s distracting but in these cases, a distraction I welcome.

These awesome rainbow graffiti’s have been showing up in Albuquerque, New Mexico:

Simple but effective. Someone got to the top of the roof and poured paint in the order of ROY G BV. Talk about making bold statements. Unlike a lot of the really shitty tagging that exists, these rainbow graffiti’s are beautiful. I think the really enhance the aesthetics of the buildings.

This “rainbow warrior” has generated a lot of buzz and admiration.  Of course, not everyone is singing his praises (check this article); cops and city officials are furious with the clean-up costs and vow to hunt the guy down. Here’s an interview of this alleged “rainbow warrior”.

To the rainbow warrior (if you are out there) – seeing these pictures immediately brought a  smile on my face.  I get really happy everytime I think about those rainbows on the side of the buildings. I love it not just because of the ingenuity and simplicity behind it but because also because of the symbolic meaning that rainbows hold. Rainbows mark the end of a thunderstorm and the beginning of a bright sunny day; just how I want to end all my bad days.

(pictures via Aesthetics of Joy)

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to The Power of a Rainbow Graffiti

  • Cecil Ticas says:

    Can I just say what a relief to find someone who almost always knows what they’re talking about on the internet. You categorically know how to bring an issue to light and make it appropriate. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  • Dan says:

    From the article you referred to: “The only person who thinks it’s great is the person who did it. We don’t,” said White. “We want the knucklehead to know we’re going after you.” Uh…A) might want to check your facts, clearly more than one person thinks it’s great (me included) and B) how professional is it to call people knuckleheads? Really?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Power of a Rainbow Graffiti at Observing Expressions.

meta

