Observing Pisa (Tourists)

July 23, 2012 § Leave a comment

Stunning view of Piazza del Duomo in Pisa

While most of my travel companions made the decision to conquer the nearby outlet malls, I opted out of the Prada sales and made a solo trip to Pisa instead.

It was a very warm sunny day

Many people were surprised that I made the trip alone; apparently small Asian girls are often discouraged from travelling by themselves. Keeping that in mind, I made sure to keep a tight grasp on my bag and tried to give off the airs of a black-belt karate master. Travelling alone might be dangerous but people are more likely to approach you if you are alone. I met a lovely Canadian couple who were on their 35th anniversary Italy trip. They were very charming and decided to keep an eye on me during our ride to Pisa.

I still haven’t figured out what the words mean but I liked the colors + Banksy-ish feel

The Piazza del Duomo (“Cathedral Square”) is situated at the heart of Pisa, home of the famous leaning tower of Pisa. You can also find the Duomo, the Campanile (bellow tower), the Baptistry and the Camposanto and the Piazza del Duomo, all surrounded by lush patches of green lawn. The weather was absolutely perfect, 75 and sunny. All I wanted to do was pass out on the lawn with some lunch and enjoy the beautiful architecture around me.

Laidback

Part of the Camposanto Monumentale

View of the Duomo from The Baptistery

The Baptistery

Besides checking out the beautiful and historical architecture, the bountiful supply of tourists from all around the world made for some  fantastic people-watching moment.

You’d think the leaning tower of Pisa wouldn’t be leaning anymore, with the amount of tourists pushing it straight.Though I didn’t get a cheesy picture of myself pushing the Pisa tower (one of the cons of travelling solo), I took way too many pictures of others capturing that exact moment.

Tourist exhibit #1

tourist exhibit #2

Tourist Exhibit #3, #4, #5…

I left the crowded plaza to check out the city some more. Two blocks in and you barely saw any more tourists. Good thing I enjoy stationary objects anyways.

fuck austerity

I love this rich turquoise color!

just some street views

Walking from the Plaza back to the Pisa train station took longer than anticipated. I didn’t see many other people walking around, so I assume I got lost and took the wrong way back. It started feeling a little eerie when no one was around me anymore.

However, I did stumble across some interesting sites, making my brief interlude worth it at the end.

Not quite sure where this is, but stumbled upon it while heading back to Pisa station

River of Pisa?

According to wikipedia, this is the Cittadella di Pisa (I figured this out much later)

colorful graffiti near the tracks

Overall, good times at Pisa! Sure beats waiting in lines at Prada or Gucci 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Observing Pisa (Tourists) at Observing Expressions.

meta

