This is just a post about GIFs and why I like them

June 28, 2015 § 1 Comment

There’s no nice way to put it. I’m having a pretty shitty few days. This GIF is for the for my shitty feelings that I’ve been dealing with:

fuck you

One of my favorite GIFs in the world

This post has been sitting in my drafts folder for over two months. It could have joined the graveyard of unfinished posts but I am determined to resurrect it from the dead. GIFs hold a special place in my heart mostly because they are such excellent forms of expressing and convey emotions. This also gives me a chance to share some of my favorite GIFs in existence.

My first memory of GIFs were from the late 90s, when the internet was starting to catch on. They were simple, tiny moving images of random things like the American flag, a green T-Rex, flame banner text, glittery angels and ugly under construction signs. All the website hosted these kinds of weird GIFs but no one ever gave much thought about them – they just existed.

f31f7ae8

If you don’t remember this, you’re clearly too young

They seemed to have disappeared in the early 2000s but made a strong comeback in the past 4 years. I started creating them for work 3 years ago, using hilarious snippets from our animations to create an emotion or situation capsule and attach funny caption. This was inspired by the popular Tumblr blog “What Should We Call Me” that was all the rage at the time. The concept is simple; you find an everyday situation that people can easily relate to and pairing it off with a GIF that conveys the feeling in that situation. It’s simple and hilarious when executed properly. I like to think of it as the lazy person’s way of communication, substituting GIFs for words. Instead of trying to improve my writing capabilities, I’ve fully embraced using GIFs as a response instead of typing words. I actually have a folder full of GIFs, from various different TV shows and random viral videos. My coworkers are always amazed that I can pull out the perfect GIF in response to any emails and it’s all thanks to the existence of this folder.

awyiss

Being able to put out the right GIF quickly is a great skill to have. It’s mostly just for cool points, which we all know is worth a lot in the real world.

These are the ones that I use most regularly for work. I’m extremely lucky that I work with such amazing coworkers that have a great sense of humor.

Usually used when I get asked to do something I don't want.

Usually used when I get asked to do something I don’t want. I use this on a regular basis

When being asked to do menial, time consuming  things. Ain't nobody got time for that.

When being asked to do menial, time consuming things. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

When someone is complaining about something.

When someone is complaining about something.

Here are my happier GIFs:

Appropriate for any celebratory situations

Appropriate for any celebratory situations

dancing

Appropriate for low-key celebratory situations

smith2

Appropriate for when you’re so happy you just wanna get up and dance like Will Smith

OMGRLY

When you’re just super excited about something. Or when you see your crush.

How I feel right now on a Sunday night and realize it’s time for bed.

This is how I feel most days

This is how I feel most days

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to This is just a post about GIFs and why I like them

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading This is just a post about GIFs and why I like them at Observing Expressions.

meta

